Sunday, November 9, 2008

Essent Cup 2 in Assen

Written by T Dobbin

Last night was the second Essent Cup race held in Assen the home club rink from both Shane and Dj. The start time changes from last week to this week with the Ladies starting at 18:30, the Men A at 19:30 and the First Division at 20:45.

The ladies results are as follows:
1st Carla Zielman (Hoolwerf Heiwerken)
2nd Chris Witty (Landjuweel)
3rd Maria Sterk (DSB Bank)
4th Anniek ter Haar (Aavas Groep)
5th Mariska Huisman (Viks Parket)

The men's race was a good race to watch. Douwe de Vries (Adformatie) sprinted for most of the points during the race taking the gold jersey at the end of the race. In the final 20 Bob de Vries (BAM Schaatsteam), Jan Maarten Heideman (DSB Bank) Cedric Michaud (Nefit) skated off the back of the peleton while everyone else in the final 20 made breaks and crossed over to the breakaways which allowed most of the top 20 to take one lap and Jan Maarten Heideman (DSB Bank) sprinted for 16th place with 10 laps to go.

In the final sprint Ingmar Berga (DSB Bank) followed Sjoerd Huisman (Nefit) going into the last lap where Sjoerd Huisman (Nefit) took the lead and didn't look back. Ingmar Berga (DSB Bank) was close behind but coming out of the last corner Sjoerd Huisman took the inside line and crossed the line with the victory and his first victory in the Essent Cup.

Men's results as follows:
1st Sjoerd Huisman (Nefit)
2nd Ingmar Berga (DSB Bank)
3rd Cees Juffermans (TNT Express)
4th Douwe de Vries (Adformatie)
5th Karlo Timmerman ( Equipe renault Eco2)

The final start of the evening was the men's first division race and starting for DSB Bank was Shane Dobbin and from New Zealand the youngster Dj Nation. The race was very fast and hard. There were many breakaway attempts and with the sprint points included in poured the pace on for the laps before and during the sprint points.

At the lap 60 mark the race had to be stopped and re-started because of a large crash around the final corner with approximately six skaters and alot of blood. Once the race was re-started there were a few laps to get back into the race and then the second group of sprints started. Shane Dobbin (DSB Bank) found himself racing alot from the front of the peleton having to close down many breaks himself. Sprinting for the final 20 Shane Dobbin (DSB Bank) & Dj Nation found themselves together and no one would seperate them. Dj Nation of New Zealand followed Shane Dobbin and both Shane & Dj made the final 20.

In the final 20 laps Engbert de Vega (GIBO-BEKA) made a solo breakaway and ended up close to 3/4 of a lap in front of the peleton and no one committing to the chase. Dj Nation of New Zealand made an attack from the back of the peleton to cross over solo to the breakaway with approximately 15 laps to go but the peleton chased him down and he was back in the peleton once again. With approximately 7 laps to the finish the TNT skater Lars Hoogenboom attacked off the front solo to try to close the break to Engbert, and soon to follow solo was Shane Dobbin (DSB Bank) with 5 laps to go. All three skaters skating the final five laps solo it was Lars Hoogenboom (TNT Express) who took the lead with just one lap to go to take victory in the first division marathon in Assen. Second was Engbert de Vegt (GIBO-BEKA) and coming in solo for third Shane Dobbin (DSB Bank).

Men's First Division results:
1st Lars Hoogenboom (TNT Express)
2nd Engbert de Vegt (GIBO-BEKA)
3rd Shane Dobbin (DSB Bank)
4th Peter Nauta (Schaatsteam Bolsward)
5th Klass de Weerd (Dorcas Hulp)
18th Dj Nation (New Zealand)

For full results go to:
For more pictures go to:

ISU World Cup Berlin Day 2

Written by T Dobbin

Today was the second day of the ISU World Cup held in Berlin. Today's schedule was the sound round of the 500 meter's with the time of yesterday and today combined to determine the overall winner, the men's 1500 meters and the ladies 3 kilometer. See below for top three results from these events and the link below for full results.

Ladies 500 meter Final
1st Beixing Wang (China) 37.91
2nd Jenny Wolf (Germany) 37.95
3rd Sang-Hwa Lee (Korea) 38.26

Men's 500 meter Final
1st Joji Kato (Japan) 34.70
2nd Fengtong Yu (China) 35.07
3rd Mika Poutala (Finland) 35.13

Ladies 3000 meter Final
1st Martina Sablikova (CZA) 4:03.70
2nd Daniela Anschutz Thoms (Germany) 4:07.08
3rd Masako Hozumi (Japan) 4:06.92

Men's 1500 metre Final
1st Sven Kramer (Netherlands) 1:45.69
2nd Erban Wennemars (Netherlands) 1:45.85
3rd Simon Kuipers (Netherlands) 1:45.95

Tomorrow is the final day of the World Cup in Berlin before everyone heads to the Netherlands in Heerenveen for the second World Cup next weekend. Tomorrow's events are the men's and ladies 1000 metre finals as well as the team pursuits. Keep posted for tomorrow's results.

Full results go to:

For more photos go to: